Goals the Week Before Thanksgiving Break

Okay, so I’ve taken 4 days off (one sick, one dentist appt, half a day with a sick kid and half a day to clean house for my dad’s visit, and a day to spend with my dad) but this vacation next week is WELL NEEDED. Who would have thought being a music teacher would be so stressful? I know part of it is getting USED to teaching music, and another part is constant interruptions (like 2 days of no class because of the Vet Day program, and four days of no class because of testing) but I’m whipped.

So.

This week.

1)      Hang with Dad and stepmom until they leave.

2)      Test. I may be music teacher, but they pull me to test kids that can be disruptive and/or distracted easily during testing. This time I get the disruptive kids. Joy. Also, no planning period until Friday. On the plus side, jeans all week.

3)      Write. Would love love love to finish Bluestone 2 revisions by Thanksgiving.

4)      Sew curtains for one of the teachers—my first time to do lined curtains. Gulp.

5)      Hit the post office and mail off some autographed books.

6)      Keep up house. It’s sparkling right now. Would be nice to keep it up so I don’t have to do much over Thanksgiving week.

7)  Go see Immortals

8) Go to arts and crafts show with Mom and BB

9)  Register for Epicon. Anyone else going?

So, maybe a little busier than I thought 🙂

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Leslie P Garcia
    Nov 13, 2011 @ 10:17:33

    I know you need it, but–would you really rest if you had a restful week? lol. Hope you enjoy your folks’ visit. Sorry about the disruptive kids. I’m with you on needing a break–my class this year could beat any 2 pro fighters into submission! Anyway-0-take carel!

    Reply

    • mjfredrick
      Nov 13, 2011 @ 10:42:11

      Good point. I do slow down, though, and take naps. And it will be lovely to focus on writing. I’ve not been able to do that since school started!

      Reply

  2. Mary Curry
    Nov 13, 2011 @ 13:37:41

    I had Friday off so my mental state is better today. 🙂

    I can’t believe it’s already almost Thanksgiving.

    Good luck with the week and give thanks for the restful time. You get the whole week, right? We only have Thursday and Friday, but I’m not complaining.

    Reply

  3. Jennifer Shirk
    Nov 14, 2011 @ 18:40:53

    OOoh, impressed with the curtains. I wish I could do something like that.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

