To NaNo or Not?

You know how I love NaNoWriMo. I have participated the past few years. (Five? Six?) I sold 2–Road Signs and Sunrise Over Texas. I have a book planned for this year.

But.

I have to do a Veteran’s Day program with my kids, for the community. It’s one song, and I did the whole program a couple of years ago for the school, but….I’m nervous about this.

My dad and stepmom are coming the day after the program and will be here four days. Again, I’ve done NaNo when they were visiting in the past, but…

I have requested revisions for last year’s NaNo book. I have nothing on the schedule for next year, and I need a sale.

I haven’t been able to get into any kind of writing routine this year. Not just this school year, but all year. I wrote 2 rough drafts and a novella on summer vacation, but nothing else all year. Which is why I should do NaNo, but I don’t think I can be disciplined enough to succeed.

Then there are all these good books coming out in November–Jessica Scott’s debut, Meljean Brooks’s sequel to The Iron Duke and the new Nora series.

Are you going to NaNo this year?

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Elisabeth Crisp
    Oct 17, 2011 @ 20:03:08

    NaNo. I want to. I have an idea, but I haven’t done the prep. And, I’m still working on the Beta read notes you gave me. And, I have last year’s NaNo in longhand that I haven’t typed yet. So, I probably shouldn’t. But, this new idea is really sparkly.

    Reply

  2. MicheleKS
    Oct 18, 2011 @ 07:22:19

    I love the idea of NaNo and I enjoy doing it but with my job situation so topsy-turvy right now I don’t think I can focus the way I should. Plus, I’m still having trouble getting into fiction writing. I would only do NaNo if it was going to be fun and not cause anxiety.

    Reply

  3. Marianne Arkins
    Oct 21, 2011 @ 04:22:13

    I’m going to give it a go. If you don’t try, you can’t succeed, right? If you end up NOT finishing… so what? You got some words down. It’s win-win.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

