Goals for the Week of Husband’s Vacation (yes, again)

This week is going to Kick. My. Butt.

1)      Continue subbing for the fourth grade class. It’s AMAZING how different procedures are this year than last. The math lesson plans are completely different and completely inscrutable. No social studies books (have you ever tried to teach history without books?) and all science is hands-on, but I don’t have the materials. :::headdesk::: I will say, though, that if I didn’t have to deal with the paperwork, I’d prefer the classroom to music. Maybe it’s just that it’s familiar.

2)      Continue working on Bluestone. This book is like pulling teeth, seriously. I was making good headway, but then just got exhausted.

3)      Start working with a group for Veteran’s Day. We have a program in less than a month. I did it in music before, but haven’t been to one in 8 years. Apparently it’s a Very Big Deal.

4)      Faculty meeting

5)      Carnival

6)      Meet Mom at JoAnn’s.

7)      Make newsletter for my new release.

8)      Write 2 more guest blogs, these for November.

9)      Take pictures of my crafts to upload to Etsy.  My Etsy shop is live!

10)   House? Yeah….

I need a good 24 hours at home to get my act together! Maybe next weekend….

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mary Curry
    Oct 16, 2011 @ 09:18:49

    Good luck, Mary.
    Are these changes Common Core-related. I’m easing into my changes because next year it’s going to be all different.

    Reply

  2. Elisabeth Crisp
    Oct 16, 2011 @ 15:24:57

    My youngest is a fourth-grader. She’s very good in math, but the homework assignments are ridiculous. They don’t make sense. Is this statewide? Best of luck.

    Reply

  3. mjfredrick
    Oct 16, 2011 @ 21:23:39

    Mary, I have no idea. We do this program called CSCOPE, which is more hands-on, and no books. They used to have a “script” which would at least explain the purpose and process, but now it’s just a checklist and the only way I’m managing is that I’ve done it before.

    Elisabeth, I don’t know. Does she have a textbook? Are they long assignments?

    Reply

    • Elisabeth Crisp
      Oct 17, 2011 @ 00:52:34

      No textbook, but lots of pages of xeroxed work. Mostly strategies for multiplication problems she can already work in her head. “Draw an array . . .” That kind of stuff. She’s doing fine, but problems are silly. I’d be worried if she were having trouble. Have a good week.

      Reply

  4. mjfredrick
    Oct 18, 2011 @ 18:04:25

    Elisabeth, it sounds like the same program, exactly the same place we are. It is a LOT of copies. Some of the strategies are good, and teach why, but for kids who get it, it’s pointless.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

