Something About Me

I usually start twitching when I see fall things coming into the stores after Fourth of July. It’s because I’m a teacher, I’m sure, and don’t want to rush my summer. But about now, this last week of summer vacation, I start anticipating fall. (It helps that every day in August has been 100-plus and the forecast is the same for the next week.) I look at magazines and ads and see yarn and scarecrows and pumpkins, and the new fall shows previewed, and I start anticipating the cozy nights and cool mornings.

Then in the winter, the ads are showing flowers and bright colors and picnic baskets and outdoor activities and I start anticipating the warmer days and wearing sandals and hitting the nurseries. So I’m always looking forward to something, though I’m trying not to wish my life away, as my dad cautions.

Today’s my last day of summer vacation. We’re getting another painting estimate, then I’ve got to run to JoAnn Fabric for some thread, then I’m going to get my eyebrows done, then get my last McD’s lunch of the summer and eat it while watching All My Children. See? Anticipating. Tomorrow I’m speaking at SARA. NOT anticipating that, actually. Dreading. Dreading that.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. MaryC
    Aug 13, 2011 @ 22:54:55

    Hope the SARA thing went well. I’ll be thinking of you on Monday.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

