Clothes Horse

When I was a girl, my favorite back-to-school routine was getting the Seventeen Magazine fall edition. Anyone remember that? It was the thickest of the year, full with fun styles and ads and make-up. I would study that thing like crazy. I would very rarely get any of the clothes, but I loved dreaming. And I could sew, so I could imitate some of the styles, and I shopped at Ross and Marshall’s, who had layaway, and I could dress myself pretty well. But I remember wanting riding boots and Candies sandals.

I remember one year my mom made me these GORGEOUS prairie skirts (remember those?) and they were a LOT of work. One was blue chambray, and heavy. The other was a checked blue-and-black with tiny cowboy boots. I loved those skirts, and I had the cutest blouses to go with them. Whenever I think of going back to school, I think of those skirts.

This summer I’ve been a sewing fiend. I’ve made three and a half skirts (still sewing the half), and have fabric for three more skirts and a dress. I’ve bought a skirt and two blouses and two pair of shoes (outside of the Croc sandals). I also have four newish shirts from the end of the school year and a newish pair of sandals (which will go GREAT with one of the skirts. I have two new nail polishes (blue and purple) and new lipstick. So I’m allllllmmoost excited about going back.

Do you use clothes to fire you up? Do you buy new clothes every season? Do you still wear skirts? Only two of us at my school still wear skirts.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. MicheleKS
    Aug 09, 2011 @ 07:37:50

    My grandmother used to make clothes for me because it was so difficult to find plus-size clothes for kids back when I was in school. And I still wear skirts because I have some really nice ones though I also like cargo pants for some crazy reason. And yes, I remember the Seventeen fall issue, too.

    Reply

  2. Paula Graves
    Aug 09, 2011 @ 07:39:53

    So not a clothes horse. Or a shoe lover. If I can find a pair of comfortable shoes, I will wear them out. And then buy another pair of the same style. And I don’t give a rip how ugly they are.

    I think I need my girl card taken away.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

