What Were You Doing 20 Years Ago?

I…was waiting for my son to be born. I’d been in the hospital all night–my water broke at 10PM. By this time they had me in one of those cool LDR rooms, but a few hours later he went into distress, and all the childbirth classes I’d dragged myself to were for naught as I had an emergency C-section. I remember they showed him to me, then carried him off to clean him up and he did a fountain imitation, all over the nurses! Later that night I finally got to hold him, and I kept dozing and the nurses wanted to take him because they were afraid I’d drop him!

20 years later…I picked him and his girlfriend up from the airport after midnight. They’d spent the weekend (and her birthday) in Denver. Then I waited for him to come home after he took her home. Today she’ll come over, they’ll play video games, then we’ll go out to eat. I haven’t gotten him his card yet, but did get him the Blue-Ray of the extended edition of LotR. He should like that!

Here’s the child I am TOO YOUNG to have!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kris
    Jul 12, 2011 @ 08:03:40

    Many, many congratulations to both of you. It’s astonishing and humbling and scary and so incredibly rewarding to watch them grow, isn’t it?

    Reply

  2. mjfredrick
    Jul 12, 2011 @ 17:42:34

    Thanks, Kris, and YES! OMG. He’s a pretty great person. Makes me proud.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

