Decisions, Decisions

So around midnight Saturday, I checked the price of the couch I want, and it was on sale $500 off. The website said it was ONLY on sale yesterday, so after we went to the grocery store, I dragged my husband out to Macy’s to look at it.

Well. I have two chenille sets, one in dark green and one in yellow. (Yellow! What was I thinking!) This set was also chenille, but broader, and the blue had flecks of brown in it. Do not want. Also, I’d heard microfiber was easier to clean. Yes, it attracts cat hair (what DOESN’T? Okay, leather, but I don’t want holes in my couches, either) but they say if you spray static guard on it, it’s easy to clean. So we found almost the same style in microfiber. We looked through the available colors, decided on olive. I don’t want a brown couch. My whole house is either blue, yellow or green, and I have light pine hardwood floors, and all my furniture is pine.

So I had my credit card out. I’ve hated my yellow couches for eons. There’s not enough room, they’re yellow, etc. Then I asked the dh if he thought olive was the best. So we put it off until today. I’m going with my mom in a bit to look at them. I promised her breakfast. At 2 AM last night, I was second-guessing myself. I don’t NEED new couches. I WANT them, but don’t NEED them. The ones in the back room are 12 years old, the ones in the front room are maybe 7 or 8. I’m not even sure the one I want, which is a sectional, won’t overcrowd my living room. I mean, I measured it and all, but…

So I may or may not have ordered a new couch by the end of the day. I HATE making decisions.

And of course if I get new couches, I might start wanting a new TV.  This one is 10 years old, and I’d love an HD….And the boy will be moving out at the end of the year and may need couches….

How do you make decisions like this? How old does your furniture have to be before you replace it?

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. MicheleKS
    Jul 11, 2011 @ 07:36:27

    I’m with keeping your couches until your son moves out so you can give them to him so that way he won’t have to shell out for furniture. And I bought my tv because I liked how it looked then found out it’s HD-capable. The only purchase I didn’t waffle on recently was my laptop but then I got a great deal on a machine that runs a heck of a lot faster than my old hunk of junk.

    Reply

  2. Paula Graves
    Jul 11, 2011 @ 07:42:11

    My furniture has to fall apart beneath me. And even then, if it’s still kind of comfortable anyway, I’ll still hold onto it and take my time replacing it.

    Reply

  3. mjfredrick
    Jul 11, 2011 @ 13:38:17

    My 12 yr old couches are so comfy, I won’t replace them for a long time. The yellow ones aren’t bad but they are hella ugly.

    I went back to Macy’s, but their system was down so they’re going to call me later to finalize the order. Sigh. I do get $100 off for opening a Macy’s account, though, and 12 months no interest.

    Reply

  4. Gina Black
    Jul 11, 2011 @ 14:11:43

    I’m like Paula. 🙂

    I think our couch (which is really a loveseat) is about 17 years old. It’s still going strong. What I need is a real couch-length couch to go with it so there are more places to sit in the living room. I keep hoping I’ll find one at a yard sale.

    Reply

    • mjfredrick
      Jul 12, 2011 @ 16:58:00

      Gina, part of the reason I’m getting a new couch is for more places to sit. I have 2 couches in the living room, but that’s not enough for us and the boy and his gf, so….

      Reply

  5. NJDamschroder
    Jul 11, 2011 @ 17:21:04

    I don’t buy anything that expensive until I absolutely have to! Just because it’s such a PITA.

    I hope it works out!

    Reply

    • mjfredrick
      Jul 12, 2011 @ 16:56:59

      Natalie, OMG, when you wrote that I kind of said, well, no big. This will be the THIRD DAY and FOURTH TIME I’ve gone to the store. I didn’t make a decision the first day. The second day no one was able to get into the computer, then we went back that night and tried to pay with the debit card, but it wouldn’t let me spend that much money. Tonight I’m going back with my damned checkbook. It’s like it wasn’t meant to be!

      Reply

  6. Natalie
    Jul 12, 2011 @ 16:59:03

    GEEZ!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

