DNF

I don’t often blog about books I don’t finish. In fact, there aren’t a lot of them. I’m pretty stubborn about finishing books, but this one…this one just upset me. It was a contemporary romance, by a big-named author. I’ve read all her other books, and a lot of her old characters showed up, all grown up and GIANT JERKS. Okay, so maybe the heroine is a bit aimless, but she did not deserve the horrible way everyone treated her, including the hero! She had no place to stay, no money for FOOD, for heaven’s sake, would eat pilfered food, and didn’t feel like she could call her parents, the hero and heroine of a former book, because they’d cut her off. I’m thinking they would have helped her out of this hell-hole. And the hero just kept putting her in worse situations, for no reason other than she was available.

I just couldn’t go on with the story. It was just too miserable.

Do you push through? Or do you set it aside?

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Norah Wilson
    May 20, 2011 @ 06:45:49

    Oh, tough question, MJ. I used to finish everything I started, but I don’t do that anymore. Time is too precious. On the other hand, if it’s the big name I’m thinking of, I almost always have that reaction to her heroes … in the beginning. I think they’re pretty much all jerks. But somehow she usually redeems them for me by the end of the novel, and maybe there’s something about that HUGE arc that is rewarding. Still, would I suffer through the detesting him part these days? I really don’t know. It’s a risk. A leap of faith.

    Reply

  2. megbenj1
    May 20, 2011 @ 07:56:33

    I know exactly what book you’re talking about and I didn’t finish it either. And I bought it. In hardback. It’s the first one of her books I haven’t been able to finish. What a disappointment! On the other hand, I found a Nora I hadn’t read before in a thrift store for five bucks and it was wonderful! Northern Lights. Highly recommended.

    Reply

  3. MicheleKS
    May 20, 2011 @ 08:24:42

    If a book is making me miserable then heck no I won’t finish it. A book like that would be lucky not to go flying into a wall.

    I’ve had books it took me a while to slog through (the last ‘Girl’ book by Stieg Larsson for example) but as long as I still care about the characters I’ll tough it out and finish it.

    Reply

  4. Gina Black
    May 20, 2011 @ 10:56:04

    Life is too short to read bad books.

    Reply

  5. Marianne Arkins
    May 21, 2011 @ 07:14:19

    Gina stole my line. I have VERY little time to sit and read, so if a story doesn’t grab me in the first chapter or two? It’s outta here …

    I’m dying to know which book. Email me?

    Reply

  6. Natalie J. Damschroder
    Jun 06, 2011 @ 21:47:04

    I have 14 books on my DNF list for this year. Most I wouldn’t classify as “bad,” they just didn’t grab me, or hit one of my “ugh” buttons.

    I read that book you’re talking about, and even though I agree with everything you said, I gave it 4 stars because it was a rare book that made me feel strong emotion, even tear up. I loved the heroine despite her flaws, and loved the way things turned around as the book went on.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

