Movies, Again

I watched two movies last week, one I loved, and one I loathed.

First, the one I loved. No Strings Attached was not high on my list, but I did want to see it. I think Ashton Kutcher is an adorable beta hero, though he’s often the same character. Anyway, the movie starts with two teens talking at camp, forming a bond. They see each other years later at a frat party, she’s very no-nonsense and he’s very led by his–emotions. A few years later, another encounter, and he gets her number. So far all their interactions have been platonic. But when his dad (played by Kevin Kline) upsets him, he calls her up and ends up at her apt. Their relationship heats up, but she’s very distant and wants no strings attached. Ashton’s character is ready to go with it, for now, but it’s not that easy.

No Strings is a perfect romance novel come to the big screen. It would have been (and maybe has been) a great Blaze plot. I kept fearing they’d screw it up (like How to Lose a Guy in 10 Days), but no. It’s one of the best rom coms I’ve ever seen. Raunchy, but great.

The one I loathed was Country Strong. I wanted to beat every one of the selfish characters with the heel of a stiletto. Honest to God, not one likable sympathetic character. Not. One. I’d hoped for a nice romantic subplot, because that boy does have pretty eyes, but no. Not nice. Not romantic. I hoped for a decent soundtrack, but will settle for buying a Hayes Carl CD instead. Hated hated hated hated this movie.

What have you seen lately?

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Jen B.
    May 17, 2011 @ 19:40:07

    I haven’t seen anything recently. I was going to see Rio but both of my local theaters were playing it in 3D. Yuck!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

