Big Changes in Store

I found out today that I’ll be going back to music. I taught it for 7 years before leaving The School From Hell for my current place. I’ve been in the classroom since 2004. I’ve got really mixed feelings here.

The good:

No more tutoring

No more morning/afternoon duty

No more teaching to the test, a new one next year.

No more Response to Intervention paperwork, which had me in tears yesterday.

No more retaining kids/parent conferences.

I don’t have to worry too much about taking a day off. The kids can go to PE if they can’t get a sub.

No more field trips

No more science lab.

I get a Smart Board.

The Not-so-good:

I have to come up with a routine for the Veteran’s Day program.

Teaching little bitty kids. I am not used to little bitty kids.

No window in my classroom. Also, moving classrooms.

Lunchroom duty. Every. Day.

Working with a new group of people. I’ll be working more closely with Coach and his team. Which means some days outside, including helping out for Field Day and such. Which…I may be too old for that.

Inservices with other music teachers, not my school peeps. It’s kind of isolating.

I don’t have all the materials I used to use, or even the scope and sequence I developed, or the lesson plans I had. I left that other school in May and didn’t return.

So I’m tripping. I have 3 months to get ready, and I’m sure it will be fine, but in the meantime…gah!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Toni Anderson
    May 06, 2011 @ 17:18:05

    Congrats, Mary. I think šŸ™‚

    Reply

  2. MaryC
    May 06, 2011 @ 17:32:24

    Good luck, Mary. I LOVE my Smartboard! I’ll check my info on it and see if there’s anything good for music.

    Has it really been since 2004? !!!!! I feel old now. I remember you leaving that school so clearly.

    Reply

  3. Norah Wilson
    May 06, 2011 @ 20:26:58

    Urgh. Change. But maybe long term, it’ll actually be easier and you’ll have even more left at the end of the day. Though I can’t imagine how anyone could get more productive than you already are! Good luck with it. And hugs, too.

    Reply

  4. Natalie J. Damschroder
    May 08, 2011 @ 15:49:06

    Like MaryC., I’m all agog that it was 2004. That means I’ve been reading your blog for 7 years! o.O

    I’m going to applaud about all the pro elements of this move, and commiserate over the cons later, as they come up. šŸ™‚

    Sounds like the move will, in the long run, benefit your writing time?

    Reply

  5. mjfredrick
    May 08, 2011 @ 21:14:32

    Thanks, Mary and Toni. I’m getting used to the idea. I think in the long run it will be better for my writing. SOMETHING has to give after the stress of this year.

    Wow, I didn’t realize I’d even been blogging for 7 years!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

