Movies

I’ve seen some stinkers lately. Do NOT watch Skyline, no matter how tempted. O. M. G. If you’re curious, they mashed Independence Day, Cloverfield and Matrix into one movie that is not as good as the SyFy Saturday night movies. God, it was awful.

Then I got How Do You Know, the Reese Witherspoon movie. At times I felt like I had started watching in the wrong place, or that I’d skipped over some important scenes. I ended up not being charmed and turned it off after half an hour.

Now, one that I enjoyed, a LOT, was The King’s Speech. Colin wasn’t the only one who deserved an Oscar there. I loved Helena Bonham-Carter and Geoffrey Rush, too. I love knowing the men remained friends. I was able to identify the actor who played the PM before Churchill as the actor who played David in a movie about Wallis and David years back, back when they seemed romantic and not selfish and a bit creepy.

Actually, Wallis and David led to a conversation in my house. If they were Nazi sympathizers, as alluded to in the movie, and in other things I’ve read since, what would have happened had he remained king? Churchill may not have become PM, and if England had sided with the Nazis—would we be living in a different world today? What do you think?

The next movie I have coming in Country Strong. I’ve heard meh reviews on that. I need something to get me out of my slump!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. MaryC
    May 02, 2011 @ 21:58:43

    I rented County Strong on iTunes but haven’t watched it yet. I read the reviews but I love the soundtrack so here’s hoping.

    Reply

  2. MJ
    May 02, 2011 @ 22:08:12

    I’m bummed–Netflix is sending me The Tourist instead. I have my Netflix schedule very carefully figured out–send it on Saturday, get a new release on Tuesday 😦

    Reply

Leave a Reply

