Elated

Okay, so the picture doesn’t show it, but I am elated! Testing is over for the year. 5th grade has 3 more testing days, science today, and later in May for the kids who didn’t pass the first time, but my kids are DONE. This means I can teach MY WAY the rest of the year—centers and reading a novel and maybe a few lessons outside on the covered patio. 25 days where I don’t have to worry about showing strategies or proving answers, or “This is the way it will look on the test.” No, we can play games and do art and writ reports (I know, that’s not as much fun for them, but it’s GOOD for them) and once we get later into May, we’ll play kickball every day (VERY good for their rapport.) I was so happy when the kids were taking their last test, I was practically dancing, thinking of how much fun the rest of the year will be. The remainder of the school year is almost not long enough!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. MaryC
    Apr 30, 2011 @ 22:14:58

    Glad your week of testing is over. I’m jealous! I have testing 5 days in the next two weeks. *sigh* This is good for the kids why?

    Reply

  2. mjfredrick
    May 01, 2011 @ 07:32:41

    EXACTLY!!! And 5th grade thinks their school year is over. They’re almost uncontrollable. You ask why, and they say because there’s no more testing 😦 So they miss a month of school because they can’t calm down?

    I hope your testing goes smoothly!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

