Happy Endings

Last week when the kids were testing I picked up Little Town on the Prairie from my bookshelf and started rereading it. I’d forgotten how much I love those books. I brought it home and finished reading it and the next day checked out These Happy Golden Years (I thought I owned it, but couldn’t find it.) I read it in a day, and when I was done, I googled Almanzo Wilder. What I read made me sad, because then I remembered The First Four Years, how much trouble they had at the beginning of their marriage. I decided that even though I have that book, I don’t want to reread. They had their happy ending, I don’t want to read about reality, you know?

When Natalie and I did our hero month, we featured a couple of guys who were heroes after the HEA, like Coach Eric Taylor and Adam Braverman. But in my reading, I prefer to stop at the happy ending and let my imagination take over. What about you?

Leave a Reply

