Movies

I’ve been watching a lot of movies now that I’m done with Deadwood (which I LOVED once I got used to the language. I’m totally wanting to write a western again.)

Life As We Know It was a really good movie though the premise was SAD. And you have to put up with some butthead behavior from Josh Duhamel and some prissiness from Katherine Heigl but the ending is so worth it.

The Switch, with Jennifer Aniston and Jason Bateman, was less good. I don’t usually mind beta heroes, but he was too weird and pretty spineless. Too much time passed and…yeah. I gave it three stars but honestly can’t remember what I liked about it.

You Again, with Kristen Bell, Jamie Lee Curtis and Sigourney Weaver made me think about how MEAN women are to each other. Kristen was mostly charming, and the practice for the wedding dance was OMG hilarious. And the ending was okay. And I love Jamie Lee Curtis. So, yeah, I remember why I gave it three stars.

I actually really liked Paranormal Activity 2. Pretty creepy. Most of the action was in the last half hour, though.

I watched The Resident with Jeffrey Dean Morgan and Hillary Swank. I guess you can figure out why. But ugh. Also, UGH.

Tangled was AWESOME. I am totally in love with Flynn. Shh, don’t tell. When I was watching it, I felt like I was in the middle of an old-school romance novel, a heroine bargaining with the hero, the hero a bad boy who doesn’t believe in anything until…sigh! LOVED.

Also loved Easy A. Yes, a high school movie, yes, an outsider, but she was so tough and so cool and so tender. I highly recommend.

Then there was Unstoppable. Pretty exciting, and Chris Pine is much better looking all scruffy, but the scenery is very bleak. Based on a true story, though, and just the right amount of humor to diffuse the tension.

Today Love and Other Drugs and Tron:Legacy should be here.

What have you watched lately?

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Norah Wilson
    Apr 05, 2011 @ 07:04:29

    Ah, my favorite topic, MJ! Actually, I seem to be more plugged into television these days than movies. Last movie I watched? PAUL. Yep, the one with the sarcastic little alien. I loved it. Of course, I love those guys (Nick Forst & Simon Pegg) from the Shaun of the Dead/Hot Fuzz days. Before that THE KING’S SPEECH (loved it) and BLACK SWAN (very compelling, and wasn’t the mother the scariest thing ever?).

    Okay, will have to watch TANGLED. It’s so hard to find a really good romance. Adored EASY A. Have pretty much given up on Jeffery Dean Morgan movies. :-/

    Reply

  2. Jen B.
    Apr 05, 2011 @ 21:30:44

    Tangled. We just got the DVD!

    Reply

  3. MJ
    Apr 08, 2011 @ 05:16:31

    I love Seth Rogan, so I will see Paul on DVD. I want to see The King’s Speech but am a bit freaked out by Black Swan.

    Jen, I hope you like it!

    Another movie I saw this week was Love and Other Drugs. AWESOME. Not one I’d watch over and over, but the last 30 minutes are just wonderful, especially.

    We also saw Tron: Legacy which was only okay. I should have rewatched the original first.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

