Harry Potter, Boy Wizard

 

Harry Potter is just a boy but has courage beyond his years. From the first book, when he has to find the sorcerer’s stone, he undertakes an adventure he never dreams about, facing the three-headed dog, the weeds, the chess game. Admittedly, he didn’t fully understand the dangers he took, but he pushed ahead.

By the second book, his understanding is a little clearer, thanks to the mentors that step in. But I don’t think he truly sees the intricacies of the dangers he’s in until he meets Sirius. He sees everything isn’t as black and white as it seems, and by the time he meets Dolores Umbridge, he understands the number of people he can trust is very limited. But that doesn’t stop him from going to the Ministry of Magic or following Dumbledore in the pursuit of the horcruxes or fighting Bellatrix and the Malfoys.

 

Where does he get his courage?

Example! From his mother who gave up her life to save his, to Sirius, to the Weasleys, to Dumbledore. Each of these show him what courage means while giving him the support he needs to match their bravery. He can only go the places he goes because of the love he receives from Ron, Hermione and the others. When that’s taken away—Ron turning on him after his name comes out of the Goblet of Fire, during the camping trip—he struggles and wavers. He continues forward, because he has the courage, and he knows what’s right, but only finds true success when he has the strength of his friends behind him.

Much is expected of young Harry, and he delivers.

Don’t forget to comment for a chance at a $25 gift certificate!

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kayleigh Butler
    Mar 22, 2011 @ 02:56:53

    I honestly don’t know what I’m going to feel when the series is finally over. All 7 books and all 8 movies will be out and cherished for generations but it will definitely be like an end to my childhood.
    All 3 actors who play the golden trio have grown so much in their roles and one thing I love about the movies is that they have grown progressively and accordingly darker. DH I think showed just how brave our heroes were, going off to destroy these horcruxes and Harry’s growing disbelief of just how much Dumbledore hadn’t told him and still fighting.

    Reply

  2. Trish Milburn
    Mar 22, 2011 @ 08:38:38

    I agree with Kayleigh. And this is one of the reasons I love YA fiction so much. It often casts a young person as the hero and savior of humanity. It’s nice to see stories that empower teens like that when in real life they really don’t have much power over their own lives, let alone the fate of humanity.

    I love Harry, Ron and Hermione, and I’m going to be conflicted about seeing the last movie. On one hand, can’t wait to see it. On the other, it’ll be sad to not have any new Harry Potter books or movies to look forward to. I can re-read and re-watch, but it won’t be the same as reading or seeing them for the first time.

    Reply

  3. wavybrains
    Mar 22, 2011 @ 11:52:09

    I love Harry Potter too. I agree with Trish–I love empowering stories like this.

    Reply

  4. Natalie J. Damschroder
    Mar 22, 2011 @ 13:43:15

    I fully agree with all of you! 🙂

    I think, though, that a lot of Harry’s courage comes from within. Something that couldn’t have been learned or developed, but is just within him. It would have manifested differently if he hadn’t lost his parents and grown up with the Dursleys and then the threat of Voldemort over him, but it still would have been there.

    So often, Harry cries, “I’M fifteen!” or “The same age we are now!” He can’t dismiss his father’s bullying or Dumbledore’s “greater good” campaign as typical of youth, because he can’t conceive of believing either is okay. He is afraid, but never turns that fear outward, never inflicts pain or difficulty on others just to make himself feel better.

    That’s why I think his courage is innate. Which sounds RIDICULOUS because he’s fictional. LOL But true heroes in real life are like Harry, too. 🙂

    Reply

  5. StacieDM
    Mar 22, 2011 @ 13:50:50

    I have not read the books yet. I wanted to see the movies first. I am usually disappointed in a film if I have read the book first. I adore the Harry Potter movies. I love the casting, the design and the moral themes. I think Harry and his friends are excellent examples of a family you choose versus one you are born to. I will be sad to see the last film but I will be glad to finally be able to read these awesome books.

    I think Harry is one of the most courageous characters I have come across in many years. Because I haven’t read the books yet, I am a little afraid of what will happen to him. He has lost so many people that he loves already. And, yes, I do realize I am worried about a fictional character. Both the actor and JK Rowling have created a wonderful character.

    Reply

  6. Kayleigh Butler
    Mar 22, 2011 @ 13:51:35

    There are also the parallels that Rowling draws between Voldemort and Harry but it is Harry’s choices that makes him different. The fact that he chooses to be good and how his mother gave her life for him. I agree with Natalie that he does have courage inside him that would’ve been there if his parents had never died.
    Trouble usually finds him but he rises to the occasion every time.

    Reply

  7. Jessica Meade
    Mar 22, 2011 @ 14:01:47

    For me, Harry’s courage is amplified as he grows up because as a boy of eleven, he doesn’t fully grasp how close danger is to him at all times. As he gets older and his understanding becomes clearer, his courage and determination solidify into a force that propells him through his story.

    Reply

  8. mjfredrick
    Mar 22, 2011 @ 17:48:15

    Great discussion! I know there are three comments pending, but I can’t get to them! I will approve ASAP!

    Reply

  9. Jen B.
    Mar 22, 2011 @ 20:38:01

    I am going to be a fly in the ointment. I think that Harry showed incredible courage. But that is obvious because he is the hero. The character that moved me was Severus Snape. (SPOILERS) The realization that Snape loved Harry’s mother was big. The discovery that Snape loved Harry becuase of his mother was bigger. But when Snape lay dying on the floor and he gives Harry a memory to watch later, OMG! It was a multiple tissue moment and memory. Snape was totally changed in those few scenes.

    Reply

  10. Natalie
    Mar 22, 2011 @ 20:50:08

    Jen, I agree, Snape is a tremendously courageous character. BUT…

    It’s the opposite of courage to bully children. Saying “I see no difference” about Hermione’s teeth when she got hit with the curse that made them grow was cruel. His treatment of Neville was more so. In Snape’s day to day life, he acted abominably.

    In “The Prince’s Tale” (the memory stream), Dumbledore expresses his disgust that Snape only wants Lily saved for selfish reasons, and doesn’t care what happens to James and Harry, a one-year-old baby. It takes tremendous courage for him to kill Dumbledore and become the most hated man in the wizarding world, and to face Voldemort while hiding secrets from him, but he STILL acted only out of remorse for his role in Lily’s death. I find his actions heroic, but not his motivations.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

