Knowing When to Say When

Soooo….I think I’m throwing in the towel on the post apoc. I have 3 weeks until the deadline for submissions and too much plot to get through, not to mention revisions (and it needs a lot). I can’t do it justice in 3 weeks. My characters’ chemistry is off, though there’s plenty of conflict. I’m just not feeling it, so every page is a struggle.

I can’t remember the last time I walked away from a book. I may come back to it some time, but I just don’t have it in me now.

I think I’ll work on the next Bluestone book, get at least the partial out of the way, and then go back to revise Midnight Sun. My confidence is a bit shaken right now.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Susanna Fraser
    Feb 09, 2011 @ 21:59:01

    I’m sorry MJ. I’ve been there twice recently, and it sucks. I walked away from two “novellas” after realizing they were really novels and I didn’t care about them enough to put 80K plus of time and effort into them. I have, however, vowed to finish the current short story/novella, not to mention my historical fantasy novel-length WIP, lest this turn into some kind of mental block or fear of finishing.

    Reply

    • mjfredrick
      Feb 09, 2011 @ 22:49:44

      Susanna, I think you’re just right–this was meant to be a novella but I think it needs to be a novel. I think I’m going to write a straight romance–no world-building required–then go on to something else.

      Reply

  2. Jody W.
    Feb 09, 2011 @ 22:17:21

    I would like to say WHEN to the snow. Anyway, do you normally book-hop or do you usually write a manuscript straight through? I have become a terrible book-hopper!

    Reply

    • mjfredrick
      Feb 09, 2011 @ 22:47:09

      I heard y’all were getting another round! Goodness!

      I usually write a manuscript straight through, sometimes revising another at the same time. I try not to hop because I do have a short attention span!

      Reply

  3. Natalie J. Damschroder
    Feb 15, 2011 @ 19:15:17

    Hopefully your confidence is back, but in case it’s not, may I just point to the plethora of sales you ALREADY have this year?

    Not finishing a story you don’t love is no big deal. Honest. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

