Car Shopping

Since my husband has been driving his mom’s crappy car for the past 2 years, we’re in the market for a new car. I want this:

But with gas prices on the rise, we’re looking for something a bit more efficient. I agree, so I was looking at this:

It’s not THAT different than my Scion, and I like the barn doors in the back. I wish it was bigger, and not 2 door, so when I saw the commercial for this, I got excited:

It’s a crossover and gets good mileage, only they’re BRAND new, so no used option there. Also, the dh isn’t crazy about it. He thinks it looks like a Kia, and kinda the point of getting a Cooper is that they’re distinctive looking. I think this is adorable and the perfect size, though the fact we’d have to buy it new does give me pause. To be fair, the used Clubmans, above, aren’t that much cheaper than the Countryman we looked at.

Also, dang, cars are expensive.

Which one do you like?

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. MicheleKS
    Jan 31, 2011 @ 06:53:22

    A Mini crossover? I can see how Mini might want to diversify a little but I like the Clubman better.

    Reply

  2. Natalie J. Damschroder
    Jan 31, 2011 @ 20:33:59

    I say get what you like. If you plan to keep it for a long time, it’s worth a slightly bigger investment, and who cares if it looks like a Kia? Think about six months from now. When you’re struggling to get stuff out of the back seat, are you going to care that it looks distinctive? 🙂

    It’s funny, because we were at the car show yesterday. I sat in a Prius and confirmed it’s exactly what I want (and sat in a bunch of other cars and ruled them out), so now I don’t want to wait the year and nine months I have to before I can get it. 😦

    Reply

  3. mjfredrick
    Jan 31, 2011 @ 21:36:57

    I like the Clubman on the outside, but the Countryman is a bit roomier.

    Natalie, Fred wants me to get a Prius, but I love the look of the Cooper. And it’s a good, solid little car. Our dealer actually has a Countryman cheaper than most of the Clubmans. Still can’t pull the trigger, though.

    Reply

  4. Marianne
    Feb 02, 2011 @ 06:32:37

    I still love the Land Cruiser … can’t help it. I’ve wanted one forever. *sigh*

    Reply

  5. Marianne
    Feb 02, 2011 @ 06:33:37

    As a side note, though, my husband (who is a Toyota man, through and through) acutally mentioned that the Coopers are well made. From him that is HIGH praise, lol…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

