The New NEW Contract

I take back everything bad I said about 2011.

Yesterday I got a Google Alert that Shannon Stacey had reviewed Sunrise Over Texas. Okay, if you don’t know Shannon, let’s just say she’s someone I admire a lot. I don’t think she knows me from Adam, except that we write for 2 of the same houses, but I started following her on Twitter because she’s hilarious. And she’s written 2 of my favorite books. So knowing she was reading my book was a bit nervewracking. She reads a lot and, well, I was nervous. But she gave it a great review.

THEN I get home after tutoring and I have an email from my Carina Press editor.

Y’all. I couldn’t open it right away. I’ve not had good news from her since August, so…I wuz skeered (and I may be a little buzzed while writing this. I’m NOT writing it this morning, BTW). But then I sucked it up and opened it to see, “Congratulations!” My editor had read it in one sitting, and wanted to tell me over the holidays but she hadn’t wanted to raise my hopes since it had to go to another editor first. No details, but the working title was 3 Days, 2 Nights, and is a novella. So, y’all. After 12 years of NADA, I’ve got my 15th contract.

:::happy sigh:::

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Marianne
    Jan 12, 2011 @ 16:16:50

    YAY!!

    And, I agree about Shannon Stacey. Her books are fab. But then, so are yours. 🙂

    Reply

  2. MJ
    Jan 13, 2011 @ 05:12:55

    Thank you thank you thank you, Marianne 🙂 Could you LOVE Kevin Kowalski more? Maybe if his book was longer…..

    Reply

  3. Natalie J. Damschroder
    Jan 24, 2011 @ 18:27:22

    WOO HOO!

    (…I was right! Wait for it…)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

