What’s in a Name?

Brrr….windchills are about 10 degrees below the air temp–cold for us Texans. Many of my students don’t have coats, just hoodies. We ordinarily don’t need them.

 

So, my gift book came with everything but names, and I can’t find my list of favorite names, and I don’t want to go back through my baby name book right now. I’m trying to remember names I’ve used already and wonder when an author can start recycling!

Hero names I’ve used: Seth, Taylor, Del, Mal, Ethan, Noah, Sam, Brady, Alex, Gabe, Adrian, Leo, Quinn, Maddox, Cullen, Zac, Trace, Cam, Nat, Marcus.

Heroine names I’ve used: Haven, Lauren, Lavender, Liv, Maddy, McKenna, Ellie, Lorelei, Bella, Peyton, Mallory, Trinity, Lily, Beth, Kyra, Paige, Kit, Willow, Brylie.

My hero in the gift book is early 30s,  a part-time bartender and a teacher, kind of bookish, wire-rimmed glasses but modeled after Alex O.

My heroine is the owner of the bar, early 30s, a bit rebellious in a conservative family. Not sure who I’m modeling her after yet. Not even sure what color hair she has. I thought blonde, but I’ve written a lot of blondes lately.

Anyone have any favorite names?

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. MicheleKS
    Jan 10, 2011 @ 07:57:34

    Some of my favorite guy names are Jake, Mick, Connor, and some of my favorite girl names are Laura, Sunny, and Angelina.

    My current hero is named Tony and my heroine is named Sunny, which is short for Sunday (I got that from Nicole Kidman’s little girl Sunday Rose- a name that I think is one of the prettiest I’ve ever heard).

    Reply

  2. Stephanie
    Jan 10, 2011 @ 08:34:07

    How about something classic… Jon for the guy, Anna for the heroine?

    Reply

  3. Carol Burnside
    Jan 11, 2011 @ 14:44:33

    Don’t know if they’re favs, but here’s a few guy suggestions: Aiden, Asher, Beau, Boone, Caleb, Carson, Carter, Damian, Derek, Evan, Fletcher, Grady, Jesse, Justin, Levi, Logan, Matt, Max, Ray, Russ, Shane, Stefan, Tanner, Turk, Wade, Wyatt, Zane.

    And for the heroine: Alene, Aurora, Bailey, Brianne, Caitlin, Cassidy, Chloe, Dani, Dixie, Ellie, Erin, Fern, Franny, Genie, Gwen, Hadley, Iris, Ivy, Janine, Jillian, Katrina, Kiera, Leah, Libby, Marnie, Molly, Nadine, Noelle, Olena, Page, Penny, Reagan, Rose, Sasha, Shay, Starr, Tilly, Tuesday, Violet, Wendy, Yvonne, and Zoe

    Reply

Leave a Reply

