The Ones I Would Love To Go Back To

In my many years writing, there’ve been a few misses that were actually some pretty good ideas. I think with some work and revisions, they could be fixed, and I enjoy the characters enough that I wouldn’t mind.

The one with the heroine who’s a spy and the bad guy who’s maybe not. This was my first NaNoWriMo novel and I slogged along with it for a couple of days before I turned the bad guy into the hero of the novel. It’s a mess, but I loved every minute of writing it. I like the hero-in-doubt idea and the heroine doubting her own judgment. It needs a, well, a plot, but I would enjoy fixing it.

The one with the single mom who falls for the brother of her child’s father. I love the tough little heroine, who has it rough, buried under responsibility, and who has no faith in men after being dumped by her child’s father and her own. The hero is a returning vet who needs tutoring to pass the test to become a police officer. Needs more focus on the romance, I think.

The one with the heroine who moves to a small town to renovate her grandmother’s home and falls for the carpenter. I love the setting (small town Texas) and the secondaries more than I like the hero (a George Bailey type) and the heroine, but I can work with that. Also, it’s over 600 pages, because it had 2 other romances in it. I could split it into two, maybe three books. And my stepdad recently discovered the whole shebang on his hard drive, so I have the foundation.

The one where the heroine is an Elizabeth Smart-type survivor. I just need a real plot.

The one where the hero and heroine are estranged after the loss of a child. I really like the heroine of this book. I have a plot but don’t know if I can bear to write it.

The one where the heroine is being held hostage and the hero is the negotiator. Clearly I have rescue fantasies. I wrote half of this one before I realized it had no plot.

The one where the hero is a large animal vet (not the same as the zoo story) caring for his drunk brother and disabled sister. The story opens when his father returns from prison where he served time for killing the hero’s mother. No idea who the heroine is there.

Can I have a clone, please?

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. MicheleKS
    Jan 05, 2011 @ 07:25:12

    Plot: the other four-letter word. That’s what seems to bring my WIP’s to a standstill more often than not. My last two NaNo books were brought to a standstill because of plotting issues.

    Reply

  2. Natalie J. Damschroder
    Jan 05, 2011 @ 18:23:08

    Thank you VERY much!

    I thought, “Hm, this would make a good blog topic, instead of filling up her comments, I’m gonna steal it.”

    And then I spent 45 minutes rediscovering old manuscripts. That was supposed to be my WRITING time, not my “what I’d write if I had time” exploration time! LOL

    Reply

Leave a Reply

