The Ones That Won’t See the Light of Day

I have written a lot of books, and I know some people who are self-publishing their old manuscripts, but for me, there are some no one will ever ever see.

The one set in Northern Ireland, during the worst of the IRA troubles. I don’t think I actually ever finished it. It was a secret baby book, btw.

The one with the rhino vet. 2 do-gooders meet and fall in love at the SA Zoo while trying to breed rhinos. Sex-ay. But I know a LOT about rhinos now.

The one with the vampire hunter. He’s a hunter, she’s a human raised by vampires. Sounds good, right? But no matter how I revise, it’s missing something.

The one with the skateboarder single dad and his nanny. Yeah, that about sums it up. I think he had 4 kids or something.

The one with the bad boy and the bed –and-breakfast owner (though it was my first editor request). Also kinda says it all.

The one with the boss’s daughter and the single dad (though it was my first contest final) There was a lot of extraneous stuff in there. A. Lot. Like I was tumbling conflicts around in one of those Bingo number things and just grabbed stuff out.

The one with the hero’s dad marrying the heroine’s dad. That one had significantly less conflict.

What do you have under your bed?

 

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Marianne
    Jan 04, 2011 @ 06:02:53

    I read this: The one with the hero’s dad marrying the heroine’s dad. as “The HERO marrying the heroine’s dad.” and thought … there was quite a bit of conflict. LOL!

    The only one of mine that I’ve shelved is “Playing House”, mostly because technology has outpaced the story (when it was written, there were no social networking sites, so the plot won’t work now).

    I may reuse the characters in something else though because I love them.

    Reply

  2. Tia Nevitt
    Jan 04, 2011 @ 06:30:38

    This inspired a post. I’ll give you a short version here. I’ve started a lot of novels over the past 20+ years. Here are some I remember:

    * The historical fantasy based on the First Crusade. Lots of fun characters, no plot.
    * The epic fantasy with a repressed people.
    * The epic fantasy where people go to a “New World” that turns out to be a magical land.
    * The science fiction romance with intergalactic spies who have symbiotic relationships with aliens.
    * The MG science fiction about a school that is based on a large space station. No plot.
    * The epic fantasy about the sons and daughters of a group of heroes who saved the world twenty years earlier.

    And the ones I finished:
    * The 230,000 word epic fantasy that I now fondly call The Kitchen Sink, because every possible epic fantasy plot is there.
    * The epic fantasy that I still want to sell one day.
    * The spy fantasy that I still want to sell one day.

    Works in progress/currently shelved:
    * The contemporary romance (a subject change!) with inspirational elements about an actor and a choir director.
    * The Christian suspense based on the old Ann Murray song, You Needed Me (“you saved my soul … I bought it back for you”)
    * The time travel historical that I’m actively working on when I’m not writing fairy tale retellings.
    * The fairy tale retellings.

    Gosh, the post is practically written!

    Reply

  3. MicheleKS
    Jan 04, 2011 @ 08:02:16

    I don’t have anything under the bed and I lost more than a few ideas/partials when I was trying to keep my last laptop running till I could get a replacement. But there are a couple of lost works that I remember:

    – A romantic suspense set in San Antonio with a cop and an art gallery owner that I never finished (I plotted it all out and that’s what killed it for me). But maybe I’ll open a new file on that because I really want to set a book here in SA.

    – A romantic suspense/action about a heroine who is former DEA agent and the hero who is a real renegade type. But this heroine had a walk-on part in my last book so hopefully she’ll get her story told someday (this is a series I am dying to write).

    Reply

  4. Liz Bass
    Jan 04, 2011 @ 10:01:56

    This is a very timely post–I was thinking of writing a similar one. I was recently combing my defunct book and proposal files (the files of woe) for inspiration, but I ended up smacking myself upside the head at the ideas that I thought were bestseller-bound. My favorite failure is the chicklit noir about a woman being stalked by a demented weatherman.

    Reply

  5. Tia Nevitt
    Jan 04, 2011 @ 20:46:13

    A demented weatherman! It would be really awesome if you could actually make him frightening. After all, who would expect it?

    “that I never finished (I plotted it all out and that’s what killed it for me)” I’ve done this! That’s why I never finished my contemporary romance. But now I am finding that even when I plot out a story, it has surprises for me. So try it!

    Reply

  6. mjfredrick
    Jan 04, 2011 @ 20:52:14

    Marianne, I’ve recycled characters in other stories because I loved them but couldn’t get a story that was good enough for them.

    Wow, Tia, you’ve been busy! And lots of epics. I don’t have the patience for that. But we’ve been writing about the same length of time 🙂

    Michele, ugh on the lost partials! I would love to read one set in San Antonio. Have you read Pam Morsi’s Red’s Hot Honky Tonk Bar? Was so cool with all the landmarks.

    Liz, I honestly don’t know how you have time to write and edit! Files of woe–yup, I can relate. A demented weatherman, huh? I think with the right tone….

    Reply

  7. Charity
    Jan 06, 2011 @ 10:28:32

    Is it wrong that I want to read about the hot rhino love?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

