Not My Favorite Holiday

I have to say, this is not my favorite holiday.

1) My husband has to work every NYE because his station broadcasts the fireworks display, so he leaves at 10 AM NYE and gets home around 3 AM NYD.

2) My son and husband are out with the drunks. Yeah. That’s good to know.

3) My husband is worn out NYD and sleeps on the couch. Fine, except if you’re trying to get anything done.

4) The Twilight Zone marathon. I cannot think of a more depressing show to marathon. And between zzzs, my husband watches.

5) And it means the end of my vacation. I love my job, I love my kids, but this has been the most UNrestful vacation ever. Can we rewind?

Wow, not a good start to the new year, being all whiny. Maybe it’s out of my system 🙂

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. MicheleKS
    Jan 01, 2011 @ 07:49:08

    I was raised on ‘The Twilight Zone’ and I am very envious of my father because he gets to watch that marathon on Syfy (I won’t expand my cable because I’m afraid if I do I won’t get anything done). There were a few funny episodes (there’s one with Buster Keaton that’s a hoot) but my dad loves the marathon because they show episodes that don’t make it into the normal rerun cycles.

    Happy New Year! I wish you all the best for 2011.

    Reply

  2. Mary
    Jan 01, 2011 @ 12:41:27

    Hi Mary,

    I’m sorry New Year’s Eve isn’t a happy day for you. I hear you on the end of vacation. This has been a particularly weird one for me since we spent about half the week snowbound. Plus I keep thinking today is Sunday. That should make tomorrow a welcome surprise.

    I actually had an unusual and productive NYE. My eldest daughter hung out in the kitchen with me while I cooked and she helped me brainstorm and talk through lot problems. We ended up talking about the story for a couple of hours. I’d really been needing someone to do that with and even though she’s not a writer, she is an avid reader so she had a lot of good thoughts to contribute.

    Hope 2011 only gets better for you from here!

    Reply

  3. MJ
    Jan 01, 2011 @ 19:02:17

    Happy New Year, Michele! My stepdad enjoys the marathon, too. I just…can’t watch.

    Mary, my husband thought today was Sunday, too. How cool about your daughter brainstorming! Have a great 2011, too!

    Update–have to take Mama Kitty to the ER and I got my edits on STTA. I’m not caring for 2011 so far.

    Reply

  4. Patricia Preston
    Jan 01, 2011 @ 23:16:34

    You always have such terrific photos on your blog! I love the cats.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

