To Contest, or Not to Contest?

This is my attitude with my husband this week. I don’t feel TOO guilty.

 

I’m toying with the idea of entering two contests. I’m eligible for two that I know of, and I have the copies of books on hand. I’m just wondering if the effort of going to the post office, and the expense of mailing, will be worth it.

The first is The Award of Excellence, judged by authors and booksellers. The deadline is next Friday. It’s $20 and 3 books. Okay, not too bad. I could enter BD and DLB.

 

The Holt Medallion is $30 and 4 books. I can enter Sunrise copied onto a CD (have to print out the cover) so shipping wouldn’t be bad. I could also enter DLB and BD.

I just wonder if the effort and expense is worth it. I haven’t really seen an increase in sales with the Eppie, but it’s not as high profile as these contests. What do you think? Would you enter?

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. MicheleKS
    Dec 27, 2010 @ 08:18:13

    I’d go for the Holt contest as you can send your book on cd so that should save some on mailing.

    Reply

  2. Fedora
    Dec 27, 2010 @ 23:04:19

    Hmm… I don’t know too much about the contest arena–is it mainly to get your work more into the limelight? The Holt sounds like it’d be easier simply because you’d be able to enter partly using CD 🙂

    Reply

  3. Natalie J. Damschroder
    Dec 27, 2010 @ 23:22:50

    I think it would depend on the prize and how meaningful that prize was to me. The contests I’ve finaled in, the ego boost has been well worth the effort and the cost, and it offset the aggravation that came along with the ones I DIDN’T final in. 🙂

    Reply

  4. mjfredrick
    Dec 28, 2010 @ 09:08:50

    Fedora, yes, I’m trying to build my name. If I final, there’s some recognition, and I know the Holt has a really good reputation.

    Natalie, I’m afraid of the aggravation 🙂 But yes, that ego boost is worth it. I don’t care about the prize itself, only the name recognition.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

