Glee

I enjoyed the songs in last night’s GLEE but I’m becoming confused and a bit frustrated by the show. Remember last season when they needed to have a bake sale because the principal wouldn’t pay for a bus that Artie could ride? And this year suddenly they have the budget for a wall of lights and rain/water on the stage for practices? (Also, is that water act really practical for sectionals?) Someone on Twitter said that GLEE this year is like its own fanfic, and I’m inclined to agree. It’s not taking itself seriously, which is fine, but then you have the Kurt storyline, which seems to want us to take it seriously. (Also, I’m a little worried for Kurt after last night’s threat.) So, confusing.

I’ve not bought a song yet this year, though I liked this week’s and last week’s music, just not enough to download. Makes me sad.

Are you still watching? What do you think?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mary
    Nov 17, 2010 @ 18:08:35

    Hi Mary,
    I read an interesting review of this season in Rolling Stone.

    http://www.rollingstone.com/culture/news/17389/233161

    This paragraph in particular seems to address the points you raise.

    “Some people complain that this season contains less plot, but that just proves people really need something to complain about. Increasingly, Glee trusts the music to tell the story, and that’s why it’s hopping from one high to another. Brittany singing Britney’s “I’m a Slave 4 U” wasn’t just more entertaining than Season One’s teen-mom subplot, it was more interesting and profound.”

    Perhaps, but to answer your question – no, I haven’t bought any of the songs this year either.

    Reply

  2. MJ
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 05:59:43

    See, I don’t think the music is even telling the story. It just seems random to me, like Puck and Artie singing in the common area. I like the new coach and of course love Sue, but I didn’t even watch the Britney episode twice. I’m glad other Glee kids are showcasing their talents, but it’s not the get-me-through-Tuesday show it was.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

