Why the Tide Turned

I’ve been feeding my latest obsession episodes of Moonlight (purchased over a year ago for a good price but never opened) and Hawaii 5-0. While I loved Moonlight when it was on, I didn’t love Alex O. He was okay, but didn’t hold the appeal he does in 5-0. Natalie said the same thing the other day, and Trish and I discussed it. My favorite question in the world is “Why?” so I’ve been thinking about it.

Mick St. John from Moonlight is a lost soul. He’s a vampire but he accepts the life, doesn’t embrace it. When he believes a cure is possible, he becomes almost manic in his quest. He’s tormented by his past. Also, he gets his butt kicked pretty regularly. My dh said, “He’s like the worst vampire ever.” YET he’s the perfect romantic lead for Beth. The reason I bought the DVD was the romance. I think the writers did a terrific job with sexual tension and building trust and, well, sigh.

Steve McGarrett is Alpha all the way. He’s a chief, a take-charge guy from the first episode when he takes his father’s murder case from Haole Danny Williams. He is focused on a goal and pursues it at any cost, not always caring about collateral damage. Okay, as I write that, I’m thinking, “Um, not good. Where’s the appeal there?” Maybe it’s that there’s no wishy-washiness, no, “Should I want this?” No navel gazing. Decisiveness is sexy.

Also, the tattoos and rock-hard abs don’t hurt.

So what do you think? Has he held the appeal for you since Moonlight, or did the tide change with Hawaii 5-0?

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Marianne
    Oct 28, 2010 @ 07:11:55

    I’m no help — I’ve never watched either show… lol!

    Reply

  2. MicheleKS
    Oct 28, 2010 @ 07:49:06

    I Netflix’ed ‘Moonlight’ and got hooked from episode 1. For me, the appeal of ‘Moonlight’ is that lost-soul aspect of Mick but it made him kind of sweet which is not a word associated with vampires. The last four episodes of ‘Moonlight’ showed how much potential that show had and of course the very last one… sigh. But I would have liked to have seen some more bad-ass and ass kicking from Mick St. John.

    ‘Hawaii Five-O’: that no-BS take charge thing is very hot but it’s also tempered by a sense of humor and compassion. I like the fact that McGarrett will go to the wire to get the bad guys and save the day. But I hope that they’ll challenge him on the relationship front because I have a feeling he doesn’t let people get real close there.

    “Decisiveness is sexy.” You’re right on that one. But a little gazing into the eyes and whispering sweet nothings is, too.

    Reply

  3. Natalie J. Damschroder
    Nov 14, 2010 @ 23:00:09

    You’ve convinced me to try Moonlight. I have the first ep in iTunes, never watched it. πŸ™‚

    McGarrett by himself is only okay. It takes Danno to make McGarrett fully appealing. Because Danny makes Steve think, gets him to admit when he’s wrong or needs tempering, and Danny’s softer side might help bring out Steve’s, too.

    And, yeah, the body doesn’t hurt. πŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

