The Carnival–Pre-Scalding

I was finally going to have a low-stress carnival. We had 2 parents helping at our nachos booth, all the teachers were there and working, so I grabbed my chalupa, and visited with ex-students. So many came by–it’s really gratifying when they make the effort.

2 girls I taught at my old school came by, juniors now, and one of them had her daughter with her. But she’s still working hard to stay in school. Another student came by who wasn’t mine, but she’s 17 and has two kids and said the school won’t let her come back. Isn’t that crazy? She assured me she knew what causes pregnancy and she’s still with her babies’ dad, but…isn’t that crazy? I may not be getting the whole story, I know, but I’m looking into it.

Then another teacher and I got burned by the blasted roaster and ended up in 2 different emergency rooms. I hate carnivals.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Natalie J. Damschroder
    Oct 24, 2010 @ 19:20:48

    Oh, no! How bad was the burn?

    Reply

  2. mjfredrick
    Oct 25, 2010 @ 04:51:57

    First degree, but some monstrous blisters. One takes up the whole space between my first knuckle and fingernail, and there’s scarring on 4 fingers from nail to second knuckle. Thank God it’s my left hand.

    Reply

  3. Natalie J. Damschroder
    Oct 25, 2010 @ 06:43:48

    Blisters are second degree! That must be so painful! 😦 That was at a school event, too, wasn’t it? Worker’s comp.

    I’m pretty impressed with your ability to see the positive. You should post pictures and get more sympathy. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

