Fun Writing News

This week I got an email from Angela James I didn’t understand. She said to be sure to let her know if we entered our Carina books in the Rita. What? They’re e-books. E-books can’t enter the Rita.

Except if the publisher makes print copies, which Carina is doing! How awesome is that? So I entered Sunrise in the Rita! I have 3 books eligible this year. Cool, huh? I only wish I could get a print copy of Sunrise, but, oh, well.

Yesterday I woke up to see a file emailed from my stepdad. It was my very first completed manuscript from years ago. 581 pages in TNR 12, and topping out at 137,000 words! DANG. I can split it into two stories, easy, when, you know, I come up with a better conflict and find more hours in the day. Still, it has my favorite ending of any I’ve written, and I didn’t have a digital file anywhere, so I’m very happy.

Okay, final line edits are done, going to work on Midnight Sun for a bit.

I have to say, I never thought I’d have JLo on my blog.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kelly Boyce
    Oct 21, 2010 @ 10:38:27

    Isn’t it awesome Carina is doing that? Good luck with the Ritas. I’d love to see Carina get lots of recognition there.

    Reply

  2. MJ
    Oct 21, 2010 @ 16:01:44

    I’m excited and surprised. I don’t know where I missed the announcement! Thanks!

    Reply

  3. Marianne
    Oct 23, 2010 @ 17:26:00

    OMGosh!!!!! So cool about Carina and the RITAs! I’m so excited for you 😀

    Reply

  4. mjfredrick
    Oct 23, 2010 @ 17:45:04

    Isn’t it neat? I mean, who knows, but that they’re doing it is awesome.

    Reply

  5. Natalie J. Damschroder
    Oct 24, 2010 @ 19:18:36

    Are you on the cpauthors Yahooloop, MJ? That’s where it was first mentioned a month or so ago, I think. Shortly after I joined the list.

    But YEAH, I was so excited, even though my book isn’t out until next year. 🙂

    Reply

  6. mjfredrick
    Oct 25, 2010 @ 04:52:35

    Huh. No. I didn’t know there were loops 😦

    Reply

  7. Natalie J. Damschroder
    Oct 25, 2010 @ 06:46:27

    I suspected as much. Angela’s the one who sent me the info. You should get on it, because even though she has an author distribution list she uses for big stuff, there’s obviously some stuff she posts to the loop and not to us externally.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

