This School Year

I’m not sure what it is about this school year that is kicking my butt. I’ve brought work home more this year than any other year in my career! I get to work at 7, I work through planning and sometimes lunch. I don’t get anything done after school because 1) I’m wiped and 2) my last child doesn’t get picked up until around 3:15.

A couple of things have changed. We HAVE to have 2 grades per subject per week entered into our online gradebook. Now, I’ve always kept up with grades but if I didn’t get my two a week, I could always let it slide until the next week. This year, no choice, and just knowing stresses me out.

I have SIX low-performing students, and in addition to working with them, I have to document the skills and the grades. Yesterday during planning I wanted to work on the paperwork, but one of my former parents came in to talk, and I only did half. Also, I need to add another student to that list, because, God bless her, she’s struggling.

I’m trying to do centers, which are easy once you get them set up, but the setting up part? Not so much.

Oh, and we have to do our lesson plans differently. Everyone in the grade level is supposed to do them on the computer and send them to me, then I send them to the boss. I’m getting lesson plans turned in to me on Wednesday, when we’ve already been teaching 2 days. I mean, I know what I’m supposed to be doing, but it’s annoying, knowing I need to turn them in.

I’ve already taken 3 days off, 2 to go to California and one to spend with my dh last week on his vacation. The one holiday we’ve had, I was traveling. I am REALLY looking forward to Thanksgiving break.

I feel weird posting this because I’ve not written since Monday.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kelly Boyce
    Oct 14, 2010 @ 07:18:44

    Wow…sounds like you are inundated! Hope you get a break soon.

    Reply

  2. MJ
    Oct 14, 2010 @ 16:27:14

    Thanks, Kelly! I was so excited to get there early and get work done–and ended up talking for ten minutes to a colleague! :::headdesk:::

    Reply

Leave a Reply

