My Brain Never Rests

My brain never rests. You may have noticed. I never understand people who are bored. I’m. Never. Bored. I kinda wish I was sometimes.

Yesterday I went to JoAnn Fabric with my mom and baby brother. We were there a bit more than an hour. During that time, I mentally made a split skirt, purses in at least five different Christmas fabrics, pajamas, tablecloths….you get the picture. It was really inspiring. If only I had more time.

My plan for yesterday was to get plants. I’m down to less than 25 outside. My brick planter has been empty since July. My concrete planters have been empty since the first freeze last year. I really miss having the color around. Again, no time.

We won’t talk about the story ideas. And y’all. The books to read. My wish lists are swelling because I’m trying not to buy more books until I get some read. I’m getting there—

Anyone know a trick to getting the brain to shut down temporarily? Or does anyone have one of those time gadgets like Hermione in Harry Potter?

Also, I’m guest blogging at a new place Oct. 21, and they want 500 words, geared toward readers, not writers. Any ideas? Pretty please?

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Eileen Andrews
    Oct 04, 2010 @ 05:42:30

    I have to consciously sit down and tell my brain it’s time to rest. I found that out the hard way when, between working my 40 hour a week evil day job and writing almost 20 hours a week, my brain began to shut down. I started planning time where I sat and did nothing. It felt wasteful at first but then my writing started to improve so I finally saw the value of it.
    As for your blog, it might be fun to write about what your favorite books are or what books inspired you in some way. It’s hard to think about that because as a writer I always want to read about how other writers write or come up with ideas. I rarely put myself in the shoes of the reader.
    Good luck!

    Reply

  2. Marianne
    Oct 06, 2010 @ 06:09:03

    LOL.. no kidding — I can’t remember the last time I was bored. I wish I could! There’s ALWAYS something to do. I can’t sit and do nothing, it makes me twitchy.

    I have a blog to write for Monday, too — and darn if I can’t think of a thing to say. So, I’m no help for you!

    Reply

  3. MJ
    Oct 08, 2010 @ 08:15:25

    Eileen, I’ll have to try that. The closest I come is losing myself in a TV show. Usually, though, I’m even working then!

    The dh insisted I take today off and we’re going to the Hill Country. Maybe for awhile I can shut the brain down and just enjoy….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

