The Trouble with Series

I’m listening to the 6th book in a 9 book series and wondering why I keep coming back to the series. I like the setting, and the characters from the first book, for the most part, and a secondary romance with older characters and another with younger characters. When I start the book, I’m immediately into the setting, no matter how long it’s been since I read the last one.

But.

The main couple in this series is the Most. Annoying. Couple. Ever. He reminds me of Michael Scott from The Office (a little smarter) but with the same goals. She is a bitch. Full on, blaming him for her pregnancy when she was just as much a part of the conception. I’m continuing the book because of those secondary romances, but wish I could fast-forward through the scenes with these two.

I found the same problem with Suzanne Brockmann’s Troubleshooters. You’d have to read through some annoying stuff to get to the characters you cared about 😦 I like overarching plots, but maybe some drag on too long.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Mary
    Oct 02, 2010 @ 17:00:41

    Now you’ve got me SO curious about which series it is. I know you don’t want to say it publicly and as a writer I appreciate that. But I’m curious. 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

