Reading Slump

I’m in a reading slump. And the bad–I’m reading three books!

First up is the audio book I’m listening to. Last week I finished listening to Life As We Knew It. It was so compelling that I listened during planning as well as on my way to and from school. I had to know what was going to happen, and as soon as I finished it on Thursday, I went to the library and picked up the second book.

Only it’s not a sequel. It’s another character in another city, dealing with the same things. Only you already know things aren’t going to get better for a long time, so there’s no urgency. I suppose I should care if his parents are okay and hope they’ll get back to him and his sisters, but I kinda don’t. He’s a sympathetic character, sure, but I don’t really like him. I wonder if part of the distance I feel is because his story is told in third person and the first book was told in first. I don’t know. But I haven’t listened since Saturday.

On my Nook, I have Insatiable by Meg Cabot. I’m almost 100 pages in and the heroine just met the hero. There’s all these other POVs that I’m sure will prove important later, but I just don’t care. I checked it out from the library, so I’m wondering if I should just forget about it and move on to something else.

And in paperback, I’m reading the latest Supernatural novel, War of the Sons. I usually like the books, because they’re set in places the show can’t afford to film in, like Florida or New York. This one’s in NYC, and the boys have been sent to the past. Only I don’t think the author has the boys’ voices down, and also, the story takes place in the middle of last season, so we already know that what the boys are after in this book won’t take down Satan, so why keep reading? (Because it was $8, that’s why.)

So do I push on, or give up and move on to one of the other hundreds of books that I have?

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jennifer Shirk
    Sep 22, 2010 @ 05:03:51

    I usually push on. (I’m a glutton for punishment though) LOL

    But I have been pleasantly suprised a few times. 🙂

    I was in a reading slump recently. It got to the point where I thought there was something wrong with me! I’m over it now. Read some really great books and now I’m back on track.

    Reply

    • mjfredrick
      Sep 22, 2010 @ 05:05:51

      I know just what you mean–I’m wondering if it’s just my mood! But I read so many good books in such a short time last month, maybe these are just suffering in comparison. I also have the new Crusie that I keep taking to school in hopes I’ll have time for silent reading, but that’s only happened once.

      Reply

  2. MicheleKS
    Sep 22, 2010 @ 06:11:15

    I’m trying to finish the monster in my bag (The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest by Steig Larsson). It’s a good book but it’s one where I have to sit and really focus on when reading as it’s very dense. Some of the reviews I read for this book said that it was a bit slow at times and they were right. But I have to see how The Girl will get out of this one.

    Reply

  3. Marianne
    Sep 22, 2010 @ 06:32:34

    I have so little time to read, I don’t give books long to grab me. I’ve read the Jennifer Crusie one … I was VERY conflicted. On the one hand, it was a great book — if you weren’t expecting a romance. That, I think, was my problem. There is romance IN the book, but it’s not primarily a romance.

    So, my advice is to move on to something else. Life’s too short to waste on bad books.

    Reply

  4. Mary
    Sep 22, 2010 @ 15:23:19

    I skipped over The Dead and the Gone and went right to This World We Live In which picks up right after Life As We Knew It with the same characters. My Nook says it’s a “Lend Me” book so let me know if you want to borrow it.

    Reply

  5. MJ
    Sep 22, 2010 @ 16:05:23

    Hmm, Mary, I may do that. My library has it on audio.

    Marianne, I’m liking what I read of Maybe This Time so far. I may ditch the SPN novel and stick with it.

    Michele, my stepmom loves that series. I don’t think I want to read them. Do I? 🙂

    Reply

  6. Michele
    Sep 23, 2010 @ 07:46:17

    Mary, those books are a big committment because they’re all 500+ pages. The first one starts out real slow and the second had some pretty violent scenes it but it’s The Girl that keeps me reading. These are what I would call hard-core mystery books and a real change of pace from the romance I mostly read.

    Reply

  7. MJ
    Sep 23, 2010 @ 17:07:54

    Eep! No, I think I’ll pass on those for a bit.

    Reply

  8. Kelly Boyce
    Sep 24, 2010 @ 08:33:54

    I find with my limited reading time, if the book isn’t grabbing me, I set it aside or take it back to the library and move onto something that does. There are so many books in my TBR pile I can’t afford to waste time on the bad ones, or the ones that just don’t grab me.

    Reply

  9. MJ
    Sep 24, 2010 @ 16:04:14

    I will say I’m pretty into the new Crusie. I had my doubts, because I don’t like her collaborations, but this is pure Crusie.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

