Booking It

I stole this from Charity’s blog.


1. Favorite childhood book?

The Trixie Belden books. And the Little House books. And Two Are Better Than One. And…I found another one recently, can’t remember the title. Something about ghost children. Oh, and Lois Lenski books.

2. What are you reading right now?

Walker, a Harlequin American Romance, the first in Trish’s continuity series, is on the Nook. War of the Sons, a Supernatural novel, is the print one, and I’m listening to Life As We Knew It.

3. What books do you have on request at the library?

The new Linda Howard and the new Jennifer Crusie, the second book in Susan Mallery’s Fool’s Gold series, Insatiable by Meg Cabot and Blameless by Gail Carriger.

4. Bad book habit?

Buying and then not reading them, or at least not reading them for a very long time.

5. What do you currently have checked out at the library?

Book 7 of the Sookie Stackhouse series on audio. LOVE the narrator.

6. Do you have an e-reader?

Yes, a Nook.

7. Do you prefer to read one book at a time, or several at once?

I usually have one on the Nook, one in paperback, and an audio book.

8. Have your reading habits changed since starting a blog?

They’ve changed since I started reading blogs. My TBR is HUGE!

9. Least favorite book you read this year (so far?)

There are a few I haven’t finished. Not many.

10. Favorite book you’ve read this year?

Do I have list just one?

The Soulless books by Gail Carriger, the Hunger Games series, and while it took awhile to get into, I like Life As We Knew It.

11. How often do you read out of your comfort zone?

Not very, though all of those listed above were!

12. What is your reading comfort zone?

Romance, baby!

13. Can you read on the bus?

I don’t ride the bus!

14. Favorite place to read?

Bed. Or the tub.

15. What is your policy on book lending?

I give books away. If I need/want another copy, I’ll buy it.

16. Do you ever dog-ear books?

No.

17. Do you ever write in the margins of your books?

No—I use Post-Its.

18.  Not even with text books?

Well, it’s been awhile…

19. What is your favorite language to read in?

English.

20. What makes you love a book?

Characters. The author’s way with words.

21. What will inspire you to recommend a book?

How much I’m engaged by it!

22. Favorite genre?

Romance

23. Genre you rarely read (but wish you did?)

Mystery

24. Favorite biography?

Elizabeth Blackwell, first woman doctor.

25. Have you ever read a self-help book?

Do writing books count? On Writing, Stephen King!

26. Favorite cookbook?

Oh, you’re funny.

27. Most inspirational book you’ve read this year (fiction or non-fiction)?

The Hunger Games books. Her ability to include so many details without overwhelming the reader was VERY impressive.

28. Favorite reading snack?

Diet Coke and peanut butter M&Ms.

29. Name a case in which hype ruined your reading experience.

I’m always wary of hype. I have to say I followed the Crusie/Mayer blog before their first book and didn’t really enjoy the book, though I LOVED Agnes.

30. How often do you agree with critics about a book?

I rarely read professional reviews. Occasionally when I’m disappointed I’ll go searching to see if anyone else felt the same.

31. How do you feel about giving bad/negative reviews?

I don’t give them.

32. If you could read in a foreign language, which language would you chose?

I have enough books to read in English!

33. Most intimidating book you’ve ever read?

Crime and Punishment.

34. Most intimidating book you’re too nervous to begin?

The latest Diana Gabaldon. That thing is HUGE!

35. Favorite Poet?

Um, Jack Prelutzky? Or Ogden Nash.

36. How many books do you usually have checked out of the library at any given time?

A handful.

37. How often have you returned book to the library unread?

More often since I started reading digitally. Hardcover books are just too big!

38. Favorite fictional character?

Jamie Fraser from Outlander.

39. Favorite fictional villain?

Hmm. Hmmm. Hard question. Jack Randall, right? He was the bad guy in Outlander?

40. Books I’m most likely to bring on vacation?

The reason I bought a Nook—so I don’t have to decide.

41. The longest I’ve gone without reading.

Not long. A couple of days?

42. Name a book that you could/would not finish.

I recently passed on a book that just drove me nuts with the inappropriate flirting and the crazy head-hopping.

43. What distracts you easily when you’re reading?

The internet. Hunger. Other people’s hunger. A dirty house. Sleep.

44. Favorite film adaptation of a novel?

The A&E version of Pride and Prejudice.

45. Most disappointing film adaptation?

The Horse Whisperer.

46. The most money I’ve ever spent in the bookstore at one time?

Not sure. $60?

47. How often do you skim a book before reading it?

Not often.

48. What would cause you to stop reading a book half-way through?

Boredom.

49. Do you like to keep your books organized?

I have them organized by subgenre—paranormal on one shelf, historical another, suspense another.

50. Do you prefer to keep books or give them away once you’ve read them?

Most of the time I give them away.

51. Are there any books you’ve been avoiding?

No.

52. Name a book that made you angry.

I can’t think of one.

53. A book you didn’t expect to like but did?

The Hunger Games.

54. A book that you expected to like but didn’t?

Don’t Look Down by Crusie/Mayer.

55. Favorite guilt-free, pleasure reading?

All my reading is guilt-free and for pleasure!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Elisabeth Crisp
    Sep 18, 2010 @ 09:24:02

    I love that cat picture!

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Tweets that mention Booking It « MJ Fredrick -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

