California Trip–Friday

So I haven’t told y’all about the big family reunion! I’ll break this up into smaller blogs because who knows how long I’ll ramble on!

Friday morning Mom and Joe came to get us at 5:30. Josh had barely woken up, so it was a scramble out the door. We waited for our flight until 7:30, got to Dallas, had to use the tram to get from one terminal to the other (HUGE! OMG!) We made it with only enough time for Josh and Fred to get quick snacks at Starbucks, then loaded onto the plane for San Jose. We flew over the Grand Canyon—was gorgeous! We landed in San Jose 11:30 their time. THAT airport I like. We had to take a shuttle to get the rental car—a black Impala! 2010, but still. We plugged in the Tom Tom and searched for In and Out Burger, since Fred said it was supposed to be the best ever. It was okay. Then we got on 101 and headed south through the Salinas Valley, marveling at the hills. We don’t have anything like that. As we drove south, the temps rose. It was 66 in San Jose, and by the time we hit Paso Robles, it was almost 100!

I never would have recognized Paso, where I spent a lot of time when I was growing up. Starbucks and a nice McD’s and a strip of other restaurants greeted us when we made the turn to the motel. We walked in to register and I saw that it was Classic Car Weekend. I squeed! The check-in ladies were really nice. We dropped our stuff, freshened up and called Dad to give us directions to Grandma’s.

Now, if you’ve ever been to Paso, you know it’s not bigger than a minute. We went down the street, over the fairgrounds, past the middle school and were there. In fact, I was so surprised about us getting there so fast, I missed the house!

Dad and Sue and Aunt Janice and Uncle Art and his wife Denise were there, as well as Dad and Janice’s cousin Raymond. We hugged and talked, sometimes all at once. Grandma sat next to me and held my hand. Was lovely. The house is just the same, with her collection of cardinals and the rock wall she built herself when I was a girl…it was wonderful that after all this time it was so familiar.

Dad announced we were going to the classic car parade. I squeed again. So Dad, Sue, Aunt Janice, Uncle Gary, and me and my guys drove a couple blocks down. It was awesome. First, I saw an old black Impala and Fred and I peeled away from the group to take my picture with it. Glad I did because I never saw it again.

As the parade progressed (it was pretty much a loop for 2 hours), my dad saw one of his high school buddies driving. The man got out of the car and let Dad and Uncle Gary take a turn through the parade! Then Gary got out and Sue got in and they went around again. My dad was so happy!

When we got back to Grandma’s, my cousins had arrived. I hadn’t seen them in 14 years and had never met their kids. My cousin Gayle and I, who are not quite 2 years apart, hugged for a LONG time! My cousin Suzanne was there with her kids. I don’t know if you remember, but her daughter had aplastic anemia and was in Wisconsin at the Ronald McDonald house for a long time. The little girl is 10 now and just great.

We talked and ate pizza and looked at old pictures so we could make a display at Grandma’s party. We were there until almost 11! We finally all went our separate ways. I was so excited, I didn’t take any pictures that night. To be continued….

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trish Milburn
    Sep 14, 2010 @ 11:12:24

    Fun. Love the photo of you with the Impala. 🙂 Looking forward to the next intallment.

    Reply

  2. Trish Milburn
    Sep 14, 2010 @ 11:12:49

    Uh, that would be installment. Saw the misspelling right as I hit the post button. Oy!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

