Home, and Hermine

We got home from CA last night after a stressful 14 hour travel day. It had taken 3 hours to get from San Jose to Paso, so we figured the same on the way back, adding an hour for lunch and time to drop off the car, so we left the hotel at 8, went by to say adios to Grandma and Dad and Sue, left her house at 9. Even with stopping at Subway for lunch, we had the car turned in at 12:15, 2 hours and 45 minutes ahead of our flight. We checked in, and waited. And waited. Just before boarding, the attendants decided they didn’t have enough room for everyone’s carry-on luggage, so they made Fred and Josh check theirs. I forgot to get my netbook out of Fred’s bag and so was tense the rest of the time home.

We flew 3 hours to Dallas, but by the time we got to that airport, most of the restaurants were closed! No fair! I ended up eating at McD’s and Fred and Josh went to a Chinese place. We got on the full flight home and landed at 11:30 in San Antonio. We collected the luggage–the netbook was fine–and called my step-dad. We staggered into the house just before midnight, and I slept until 10 this AM! Poor Fred had to go to work. Josh did, too, but not until 4.

Of course, I needed to go to the grocery store, and Tropical Storm Hermine hit, so I was running through the sideways rain to load the car. I didn’t buy too much, but did get deli stuff for lunch and dinner. And I’ve been doing laundry as long as I’ve had electricity. I took a nap, too, and will probably be in bed by 9. Dude, it was only a 4 day vacation! At least tomorrow is an easy day at work.

Oh, and my book came out, so I’ve been doing promo like mad!

Tomorrow, I need to get to work on my revisions!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Marianne Arkins
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 13:16:05

    short vacations are sometimes more tiring because you spend half of it traveling! Welcome home 🙂

    Reply

  2. MJ
    Sep 09, 2010 @ 05:45:17

    True! I went to bed at 8 last night, and could still be sleeping! I’m also bummed that I lost a pair of jeans and my car charger 😦 I remember getting the charger out of the rental, and I have the blouse I wore with the jeans. Just don’t know where they ended up!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

