First Review and Feeling Like a Fraud

I found the first review for Sunrise Over Texas last night. Despite my vow to myself to have someone else read it first, I couldn’t resist, and it’s a good review! Also, good comments. But I emailed Trish and told her I was so nervous about this book coming out, because it will have a higher profile, and I’m certain this time everyone will figure out I’m a fraud. She chided me, but my husband said he knew exactly how I felt. I’m waiting for people to point out that I don’t really know what I’m doing. I mean, you guys have seen my process–it’s a mess! And when I write, I write with abandon. Yes, I research and yes I revise, but…do you know what I mean?

Regular day today, then testing again tomorrow. Big family reunion this weekend and I have a cough and congestion. YAY.

Almost done with revisions, though!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. MicheleKS
    Sep 01, 2010 @ 07:34:56

    First, congratulations on the great review. Second, you’re not a fraud. Nora Roberts doesn’t plot or outline and does most of her research on Google and look at her. Every writer has their own way of doing things and if it works for you then keep at it. And if someone doesn’t like it… well that’s they’re opinion and let it go at that.

    And I just ordered Don’t Look Back- can’t wait to read it.

    Reply

  2. Natalie J. Damschroder
    Sep 01, 2010 @ 19:03:24

    I like your books better than Suzanne Collins’. Publishers don’t buy books by frauds. There is NO WAY Carina would have bought SOT if your process did anything less than create a stellar piece of fiction.

    Still, I know nothing we can say will really ease those jitters, so I’ll just give you *tackle hug* and cheer about the release!

    Reply

  3. mjfredrick
    Sep 02, 2010 @ 05:40:40

    Michele, THANK YOU! You are awesome.

    And Natalie—:::THUD::: Better than Suzanne Collins?? OMG! LOL. THANK YOU!

    Reply

  4. Kelly Boyce
    Sep 02, 2010 @ 08:42:19

    I was thrilled to see your book over at Carina! I’m looking forward to reading it!

    Reply

  5. mjfredrick
    Sep 02, 2010 @ 17:01:40

    Thanks, Kelly! I’m over the moon excited! Can’t wait to see YOURS up there! You, Natalie and I share an editor!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

