Catching Fire

I survived the first day, came home, made dinner and did NOTHING else. Was asleep by 10, and now am up at 2 with a very bad headache. Sigh.

I’m listening to Catching Fire, the second book in the Hunger Games series. I’ve been toying with my own post-apocalyptic idea (in fact, I have a rough ROUGH draft around here somewhere) but most of the post-apocalyptic novels I’ve read–Hunger Games, the Joss Ware series, or even the movie The Book of Eli–take place decades after the apocalyptic event. 75 years for the Hunger Games, 50 for the Joss Ware, 30 for The Book of Eli. Long enough that most people don’t know the time before the event, and the books are firmly set in the new reality.

I think I want my event to be only 10 years in the past, maybe less. I want my heroine to remember the event and the time before. I want to write out the event itself, just for my own mind. What do you think? Do you think it’s too soon after the event to have a story?

At this point I’m just playing because it looks like it’s going to be the Fall of Revisions.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mary
    Aug 17, 2010 @ 09:28:53

    Hi Mary,

    I guess HG inspired us all. I’ve got an idea that I’m playing with also. I have a long drive to Maine and back ahead of me when we pick up the eldest DD so I told me DH he has to help me plot the apocalyptic part. I know what I want post-apocalypse.

    Speaking of Catching Fire, I have to give Suzanne Collins credit. I didn’t know how she could match GH, but CF drew me right in and caught me up in all the tension. I love how her plots flow so organically.

    To answer you, I don’t see why it would be a problem to have it only 1 years later. I think remembering the past would add tension.

    Reply

  2. Mary
    Aug 17, 2010 @ 09:29:22

    oops – mixed up my letters HG not GH

    Reply

  3. mjfredrick
    Aug 17, 2010 @ 20:41:57

    Oh, cool! So glad you’re writing one, too. I was thinking on the way to school about a book Trish read recently called As We Knew It, and I think it’s immediately after an apocalyptic event.

    Reply

  4. Natalie J. Damschroder
    Aug 20, 2010 @ 17:56:15

    I’ve read several books set within memory of the apocalyptic event (or the non-apocalypse, in one case). Unfortunately, they’re all unpublished (so far), so I don’t think that’s very helpful to you! LOL

    I guess the most famous example would be The Stand, right?

    Reply

  5. mjfredrick
    Aug 21, 2010 @ 19:22:11

    Oh, The Stand is one of my favorites. I think Trish read a YA, too, something about the moon coming closer or something. Of course now I’ll be waiting to work on this 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

