Obsessions

This cat looks JUST like Mama Kitty!

You know me and my obsessions. Earlier this week I had the idea to make a purse with my Sunrise cover. I thought a brown cigar box style would be cool, and, oh, what if I tried to make it look like leather? So I made the dh take me to Michael’s. No cigar box purses. I had errands on Monday, so decided to try another Michael’s and JoAnn’s. No cigar box purses. Then I tried Hobby Lobby. Voila! I even found a stencil on clearance that kinda looked like tooled leather.

I brought it home, put the first layer of brown paint, let it dry, then another layer. Then I stenciled the box, using metallic bronze paint, let it dry. Then I thinned the brown paint and added a layer of that over the stencils to mute it. Then I added my cover with decoupage glue, and throughout the day added 5 layers of gloss.

Yesterday I decided to use it, but my stuff was rattling too much in the box. I needed a liner. I went to JoAnn’s, thinking I’d get a western fabric and some batting. It was all pretty expensive for what I wanted. The dh had suggested felt, so I looked at the cut-to-order felt. Ugh.

Then I went to the pre-cut felt. LOOK what they had. I just have it set in there for now, since my glue gun is at school. But it fit as it was!

So my new obsession–I want to make a case for my netbook. We’re going today to look for cool fabric. I think I’m going to make it like an envelope, but I need padding. I’d kinda like a handle, but not sure how to do it.

I wish I could be obsessed about exercising πŸ™‚

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. micheleks1
    Aug 05, 2010 @ 07:03:26

    Lovely purse- great match with the cover.

    I think the only I could obsess over exercise would be if it wasn’t a chore. I see it as a chore I have to do- not a lot of fun in chores.

    Reply

  2. marybethlee
    Aug 05, 2010 @ 12:36:57

    Coolest thing ever! I wish I had the talent to do that kind of thing, Mary. How awesome!
    I obsess over exercise now: ZUMBA! It’s so much fun. I really can’t dance, but with Zumba, it doesn’t matter. We’re all out there having fun. πŸ™‚

    Reply

  3. Natalie J. Damschroder
    Aug 05, 2010 @ 17:33:36

    Very cool, Mary! You’re so talented!

    Reply

  4. mjfredrick
    Aug 05, 2010 @ 20:59:57

    How it came out JUST as I pictured it is amazing to me πŸ™‚

    Michelle, I wish I could find a way for it not to be a chore. I’ve been listening to audiobooks while I walk, so that helps me look forward to it a bit.

    Mary Beth, some of the teachers at school love Zumba, but I have trouble making myself leave the house once I’m home! Bad me.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

