Category Romance Themes

When I was in Minnesota, I came up with an idea for a series set in a small lake town. Since I met my writing goal early today, and finished the skirt I was making and cleaned the garage, I gave myself permission to play with it. As of right now, I only have one character firmly in mind. I thought if I’d play a little bit with category romance themes, I might find my couples and my conflict.

All I can think of are:

reunion romances

secret babies

marriage of convenience

friends-to-lovers

I need your help–what are some others?

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Paula Graves
    Jul 27, 2010 @ 18:25:36

    Some of these are less themes than hooks, but maybe they’ll spark something…

    Plain Jane heroine

    Tortured hero

    Secret past

    Amnesia

    Pregnant heroine

    Unsolved mystery from hero/heroine’s past

    Hero/heroine undercover

    Missing/kidnapped child

    Heroine with a stalker

    Hero & heroine against the elements (I have a soft spot for disaster stories)

    Hero or heroine unjustly accused

    Vendettas (hero or heroine has reason to hate the other but learns he/she was wrong or misled)

    Secret identity (hero or heroine has to pretend to be someone he/she isn’t–but should be for a very good, very urgent reason)

    Reply

  2. mjfredrick
    Jul 27, 2010 @ 19:06:26

    You are AWESOME, Paula! I could totally use the h/h against the elements and the secret past. Maybe the Plain Jane and the tortured hero, too! Thank you!!!

    Reply

  3. MaryC
    Jul 27, 2010 @ 19:06:42

    The only one I can think of off-hand is boss/employee or the suddenly responsible for a baby guy/needs a woman.

    When I was trying to get a handle on some themes I went to the eHarlequin home page and read through the summaries of the last few months worth of books.

    Reply

  4. Marianne
    Jul 28, 2010 @ 04:39:27

    Rich guy / poor girl

    Can’t think of any others that haven’t been named. Good luck!

    Reply

  5. mjfredrick
    Jul 28, 2010 @ 06:29:55

    Mary, I did the same, and they all seemed to have babies. Sigh. I just don’t think I want to write babies/kids. Must be the teacher in me.

    Good one, Marianne! Thanks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

