The DRAMA

Remember that whole getting back in the swing thing? Yeah, hasn’t happened. When I was in MN, the boy and his gf started having troubles, and he’s been crying. A lot. And talking to me. A lot. We’ve talked more in the 4 days I was home than we’ve talked in 4 months. I know I should be glad that he CAN talk to me. I know. But I’m worried and uptight, and add to that really tired. (I slept 10 hours on Tuesday.) Last night I couldn’t sleep and made the mistake of getting up and coming out into the living room. The boy was there moments later with the latest update. See, she’s wanted space, and so he hasn’t seen her in a week, but they’ve messaged each other on Facebook. That’s not open to interpretation or anything, and he’s enough like me that he’s analyzing every word. As of last night, she said they were fine, but she liked having the distance for them each to spend time with their own friends and doing their own hobbies. In this, I agree with her. The boy hasn’t been playing music, has had nothing to occupy his time with, other than reading, and when you’re upset (well, when we’re upset) you can’t really concentrate.

THEN the dh is heading to Houston today to play a gig–4 hours there and back. He’s not staying over. So yeah, nervous about that.

Y’all, and last night was the first night I watched more than an hour of TV all week. I haven’t even watched The Losers DVD that came on Tuesday.

I’m hoping next week is drama-free, outside of my book! I need 10,000 words a week to finish the rough draft before school starts.

This is my other new favorite picture.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Marianne
    Jul 24, 2010 @ 09:01:36

    I do NOT miss the drama of my younger years. Everything hurts more when you’re young. I’m sorry your son is struggling. Heartbreak hurts.

    Hang in there!

    Reply

  2. MaryC
    Jul 24, 2010 @ 13:09:40

    Hugs on the drama. My sister went through something similar with her son last spring. Seems to have resolved itself for them so I hope it does for you too and soon.

    10,000 is ambitious but if anyone can do it, you can.

    Reply

  3. mjfredrick
    Jul 25, 2010 @ 12:28:12

    Thanks, Marianne and Mary. I almost wish it was a clean break, but she invited him to a party last night. Who knows….

    Reply

  4. Natalie J. Damschroder
    Jul 29, 2010 @ 20:30:03

    I’m sorry, Mary! I hope it doesn’t drag out too long, whatever the end result is. It’s so hard to watch them hurt and not be able to do much about it.

    Reply

  5. Natalie J. Damschroder
    Jul 29, 2010 @ 20:33:22

    Will delete. Forgot to subscribe.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

