Summer TV

Despite my vow not to, I’ve added TV shows to my season passes.

I added Good Guys, but didn’t like it that much and removed it. I added Memphis Beat, didn’t like the first episode, but watched the second episode and liked it better-less jumping to conclusions.

I added The Gates. Very shiny, but I’m enjoying it.

I added Haven and absolutely LOVE the heroine. Snappy dialogue for the win. Also gorgeous scenery.

I added The Glades because the hero reminded me of someone, kind of a combination of Misha Collins and Nathan Fillion. The first scene, with the kids in the car in the swamp with all the windows open, all I could think about was mosquitoes. Haven’t watched the rest.

I also added Covert Affairs. I added Psych again. Last year it annoyed me but I’m  giving it another shot.

What are you watching this summer?

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. MaryC
    Jul 13, 2010 @ 11:32:56

    Hi Mary,

    The only summer TV I’ve been watching is Lie To Me. DH tends to take over the only TV that is in the air conditioned part of the house so unless I want a running commentary, I tend to avoid watching television with him. Lately it’s been too hot to want to watch the TV downstairs.

    I meant to watch Covert Affairs and The Glades but I forgot.

    Reply

  2. Marianne Arkins
    Jul 13, 2010 @ 12:26:33

    Only NEW one is “Rizzoli and Isles” — but I’m thrilled that Eureka, Warehouse 13 and Leverage are back (REALLY thrilled).

    Didn’t like Memphis Beat. I’m kind of glad, actually. I don’t need any new TV shows to suck up my time, lol.

    Reply

  3. mjfredrick
    Jul 13, 2010 @ 21:08:11

    I started watching Lie to Me when it started but it kept getting deleted before I’d watch it, so….

    I wasn’t too impressed with The Glades. I’m kinda over cocky cops, but my rule is to give it 2 chances. It’ll be on again, I’m sure.

    Marianne, I have R&I on the Tivo. I wasn’t going to watch it but people on Twitter last night seemed to like it. I wonder if Memphis Beat is a southern thing. And dang, I love that car.

    Reply

  4. MaryC
    Jul 13, 2010 @ 22:21:41

    Hey Mary, I just went and watched HAVEN. I liked it enough to watch the second episode on Friday but dang I couldn’t turn the writer in me off. I kept admiring the plot twists.

    Reply

  5. Norah Wilson
    Jul 14, 2010 @ 09:47:43

    MJ, have I ever mentioned I love the eye candy at your site? Well I do!

    I’m watching Haven too, and I love this cast, especially bad boy Duke. The scenery IS gorgeous! It’s shot in Lunenburg, Nova Scotia, which looks a lot like coastal Maine. Loved the snappy dialogue, too. The only thing missing for me was any real sense of fear. Well, except for the car/cliff thing! That was scary. But the supernatural stuff didn’t scare me, possibly because the heroine didn’t seem to be scared. She seemed to take everything in stride, no matter how weird. But I’ll definitely keep watching.

    Reply

  6. mjfredrick
    Jul 14, 2010 @ 10:09:03

    Mary, there’s already a second episode of HAVEN? Must find!!!

    Isn’t that just a lovely picture, Norah? Good point about the heroine not being afraid–in fact, she was rather easily accepting. That was the only thing I couldn’t get behind.

    Reply

  7. Natalie J. Damschroder
    Jul 14, 2010 @ 19:06:39

    I have new stuff that I haven’t started yet. The Good Guys is recorded, haven’t watched. Ditto Hot in Cleveland, which I just wanted to try for nostalgia’s sake. Looking forward to Covert Affairs, which we didn’t watch last night yet because we were catching J up on Supernatural. 🙂 Also trying Haven (glad to hear about snappy dialogue!) and Rubicon next month.

    Returning shows: Eureka, Royal Pains, Leverage, White Collar.

    My summer lineup is almost as big as my fall lineup!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

