Heroine Types I Don’t Like

funny pictures of cats with captions
see more Lolcats and funny pictures

Yes, it really is 2:30 AM as I write this. My boy cat was in a fight outside the window and I couldn’t go back to sleep, so I decided to get up and write, since the dh took over the computer last night. (Yes, we need a new computer. Haven’t exactly decided which option we want to go with, though–netbook, iPad or splurge and get a new Macbook.)
I was reading that book I was telling you about the other day, Suddenly One Summer, and I just don’t like the main heroine. It’s not her, particularly, but her type. The closed-off type, the one who doesn’t let anyone in and wants to do it all herself. This one is particularly serious, as well, which doesn’t heighten her appeal. I’m trying to think of other books that I’ve seen this type of heroine in and I can’t.
Another kind I don’t like is the too-tough heroine, which probably means urban fantasy isn’t for me. Interestingly, these two heroines have something in common, I guess. I wouldn’t say Jenna in SOS is too-tough, so they’re not the same type, really, just similar.
Busy day ahead–post office, UPS store, Goodwill, library and Walgreens, then my cousin’s in town and wants to meet up. Hope I can get back to sleep. Maybe after I write something….
Photobucket
Leave a Reply

