Things That Go Through My Mind When I Can’t Sleep

funny pictures of cats with captions
see more Lolcats and funny pictures


I woke up at 1:30 last night and COULD NOT go back to sleep.

So..I mentally rearranged my classroom and saw there are actually no good seating arrangements.

I composed a riff on New Moon and realized I’d probably offend more people than I’d entertain with it.

I worried about money.

I mentally rearranged my living room and realized there’s actually no good way unless we get wireless printers.

I worried about my son.

I tried to decide what pastry I’d get at Starbucks since today was free pastry day. I also debated over which size mocha to get. After no sleep, I went with the grande.

I replayed my favorite Terminator Salvation scenes in my head.

I worried about the dang pep rally on Friday.

I tried to think of a good restaurant to take my cousin when they’re here this week.

I wished I hadn’t done that extra set with the Shake Weight because I figured that was why my back was hurting.

I wished I’d taken a Tylenol PM.

I wondered when I’d hear about any of my submissions. (Oddly, I did very little thinking about my writing.)

I finally reset the alarm, setting it half an hour later, and was able to go back to sleep for two hours. I had a lovely dream, though, about the dh and I having an adventure, and woke up when my alarm usually goes off.

I know, I know, if I could have turned my mind off, I might have gone back to sleep sooner, but I just couldn’t, once it got going. I debated getting up to work, but didn’t let myself. I wonder if I should have. What do you do when you can’t sleep?

Photobucket
2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Natalie J. Damschroder
    Mar 24, 2010 @ 09:52:57

    Man, you get more done in your head in the middle of the night than I get done all day!My "can't sleep" is more along the lines of faint dozing but never falling fully down, so it's totally unproductive time.

    Reply

  2. MJFredrick
    Mar 28, 2010 @ 06:22:43

    LOL, Natalie. Your way is probably more relaxing.I took Nyquil Friday night–allergies–and slept 10 hours! Last night? 4.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

