More Pinterest Hits

I was home all weekend, so tried a lot of what I thought would be quick projects.

First, this sun catcher:

You melt beads at 400 degrees for 20 minutes. My mistake? Using old Marie Callender pie pans, with the name embossed on the bottom. The name came out on the sun catchers! So Sunday I bought disposable ones and remelted. I had to add beads because it was a little wider, and this is how they came out:

Next, coasters made with scrapbook paper. This took a LOT longer than I thought, but I got a little carried away.

For Susan: 

My first effort: (these actually were one of the best. The thinner the paper, the better)

For Baby Brother, since he loves the retro:

Mine:

For another teacher who likes to travel:

This one didn’t come out quite as well–I may mount them in the bathroom instead:

Then the lemon sugar foot scrub. This is a big hit.

(Their picture, not mine)

Then the weathered beach signs. I love these, but also a lot more work than I thought.

Theirs:

Mine: (I couldn’t weather them quite as much)

And the last of the crazy, bleached t-shirts. Hers:

My first:

My second during:

After: (I did NOT think it was going to come out, and it’s not as light as it looks in the picture, but still danged cool!

I have some recipes, too, but another day ;) Any reason why I haven’t been writing?

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Gayle Cochrane (@GayleCochrane)
    May 29, 2012 @ 08:55:26

    Proof is in the pictures. Would you do any of them again? They all look great.

    Reply

  2. Norah Wilson (@norah_wilson)
    May 29, 2012 @ 21:04:50

    MJ, you are a wild woman! A crafting fiend!

    Reply

  3. mjfredrick
    May 30, 2012 @ 05:34:58

    Norah, Fred thinks I’m nuts. I have a basket in the pantry I call my basket of crazy. Gayle, I’ll probably do all of them again. This was my second batch of foot scrub. And the t-shirt just came out so cool. I want to try it with script. And I have a lot more scrapbook paper, and there’s a scrapbook paper shop in one of the small towns my mom and I like to visit. I just need to get fishing line for the sun catchers.

    Reply

  4. Oma Jo
    May 30, 2012 @ 15:54:05

    You are so amazingly cool!

    Went to my nephew’s kindergarten graduation today. Summer is here. Let’s plan lunch soon!

    Jo

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,687 other followers

